276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Gluten Free Chippy Non-Brewed Condiment (Malt Vinegar Flavour) 315ml

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I contacted Blue Horizon and they were very gracious and explained the vinegar source and even included the lab test results showing that no gluten was detected in the products! As you’ve undoubtedly noticed, in recent posts I’ve focused pretty heavily on barley, brewing beer, and malting grains. I cry each time I hear the kiddos talk, I feel the pain of the parents and am inspired to do whatever I can to help spread awareness. Just so we are clear, the idea that malt vinegar may be gluten free is recent, possibly controversial and is definitely a personal decision.

Also, something to consider: Heinz malt vinegar is made with barley AND corn, which would further reduce concentrations. The end result is that malt vinegar in theory contains very little – or possibly even no – in tact gluten. The 'non-brewed' version of vinegar is halal as it doesn't contain any alcohol as there is no malt involved in the making of it. A very few people who are extremely sensitive to trace gluten seem to react to almost all vinegar, including the ones listed above as safe.There’s also the option to take a gluten free beer such as RedBridge(sorghum based) and product your own malt vinegar. This type of vinegar—commonly used in Japanese cooking—is OK for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity to consume as long as it doesn't contain any other types of grains. One star deducted because there’s an open hole with nothing to cover it (no top) after you’ve removed the inner seal- weird! One of the reasons distilled vinegar has caused confusion is that it is made from distilled alcohol which may be made from a gluten-containing grain.

I am curious as to why Coeliac UK would consider it safe unless there has been real development of gluten-free malt vinegar! I’m Reggie Smith, owner of Supreme Vinegar LLC, a specialty fruit and wine vinegar manufacturing company in Bensalem, PA just outside of Philadelphia.Let’s look closer at the generally safe vinegars on a gluten-free diet and those that should be avoided or approached with caution. We are asking food manufacturers who produce products made with ingredients from gluten containing grains, such as barley malt vinegar, to not only confirm to us that their products have been tested and shown to have no more than 20 ppm gluten, but also to label them gluten free. Many experts consider distilled vinegar to be safe, because the vinegar distillation process breaks down and eliminates the gluten protein fragments. How many products have similar sounding names but different formulations that we don’t even think to check the label for that extra word or two that signals the difference?

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment